Happy Republic Day


It’s the first time in Mumbai that parade is going to take place and I had Promised myself that no matter what I will be present for this big moment tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-032.Normally the parade is held at India gate , New Delhi city but today it is also being held in Mumbai. Today is 26th January,and for we Indians its Happy Republic Day. The most important day for the Indian constitution. It was this day when the Declaration of Indian independence was proclaimed by the Indian National Congress. As a Tradition a parade of our Defense Forces and Naval Fleet takes place on this special day and this time the Maharashtra Government also decided to hold a parade and the venue was Marine Drive, The Queens Necklace!!! I had to leave by 6am. I was all ready and had taken my bath. Normally on holidays I don’t wake up before 10 am tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-100 but today i dint want to miss the parade.My friend was supposed to accompany me,but soon i received a message saying ” I wont be able to come. Sorry can’t make it “.   So here i was alone tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-003. But i went through with my plan. I took my car keys and left for marine drive.

     Driving so early morning in Mumbai city is a different experience altogether. Less traffic, cool breeze and today’s special patriotic songs playing, I was enjoying it tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-012. Suddenly i heard something and my facial expression changed tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-013. My car stopped suddenly and i got down and saw car’s left side tyre flat. Goshhhh tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-034 !! “The Tyre couldn’t have chosen a better time to get punctured.” I really panicked for a while because i dint want to miss the parade. I quickly opened my car’s boot and search for a spare tyre and tool kit.The lane where my car tyre had punctured was deserted. I wandered here and there for help so that i can reach marine drive quickly but found no one. Quickly i sat down to change the tyre. I needed a cloth to wipe my hand in between so i  got up and took it from the car . It got slipped from my hand and fell down. I bent down to pick up and i saw three strangers standing straight in front of me tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-052. They all were well-built with a big mustache and one even had a big mole on his cheek tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-068. I could feel trouble around me. I ignored and turned back and got back to my work. One man came closer to me and i was shivering a bit already tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-152. “Whatever you have give us.” He said.” Here it goes , i was already stuck here on this lovely lonely road and working on my tyre and I met this goons. What a lovely morning! “I said to myself  tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-005 . I got up and faced him. He must have judged by now that i am scared . I can see the cunning smirk on his face tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-059. I told him to leave me alone. But he ignored me. I started screaming “HELP!!” But soon my mouth was wide open tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-039. He removed a knife and told me to be silent or else he will put that wacky thing inside me. I really had no choice but to give away all I had. Sweat was streaming down  my face and my hands were trembling while i was removing my things and giving him away.

Suddenly my sight caught a man passing on the opposite side of the road and I screamed loudly “HELPPPPP tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-037!!!!!” . He heard quickly and came running towards me. The thug tried to hurt me by the knife but I was rescued by that brave man. Few punches tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-021 on their faces and all were lying down holding hands on their face. I thanked God for sending him . Those goons almost tried killing that man but he was giving tough time to them in return. Soon the fight was over and those goons returned my stuff and ran away. I thanked that man shaking his hand and told him how i got stuck here and my tyre got punctured and these people came from nowhere and were trying to mug me. I came to know that he was an ex army captain Mr Vikramsingh Rathod. Now that answers my questions for his fighting skills. Later he even helped me fixing the new tyre. I was so glad to meet him. Still today there are brave people alive to help the humans in distress. I thanked him and told him I was going to Marine drive for watching parade. He too was going there and so I asked him to join me. He agreed and we left from there.

     While driving , he told me his army stories. Not only i was impressed by his bravery, stories he was narrating to me but also by his physique tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-067. Huge biceps, shaved look, soldier hair cut and he was wearing half sleeve green color t-shirt and cream-colored track pants. He was looking good indeedtiny-smileys-yesemoticons-100 Soon we reached Marine drive and sat exactly in front of  Intercontinental hotel . Though we missed 15 mins show but still i was able to capture few things. I enjoyed watching parade but still no comparison of it with the parade held in our capital city New Delhi. I clicked few pictures which I will love to share with you all. Have a look at it below. To all my Indian friends “Happy 65th Republican Day”. tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-010

The Parade Started with an Army Convoy

The Parade Started with an Army Convoy

One of the Strongest armored Tank

One of the Strongest armored Tank

155 MM Bofors Gun

155 MM Bofors Gun

105 MM Light Field

105 MM Light Field

Pinaka Multi Barrel Rocket Launcher

Pinaka Multi Barrel Rocket Launcher

Our Beloved Army Men Marching in Tandem

Our Beloved Army Men Marching in Tandem

Army Band

P-21 Indian Navy Surface to Surface Missile

P-21 Indian Navy Surface to Surface Missile

RZ-61 Surface to Air Missile

RZ-61 Surface to Air Missile

The Indian Navy Troops Marching in White

The Indian Navy Troops Marching in White

Our Beloved Mumbai Police Force

Our Beloved Mumbai Police Force

The Mumbai Police force Marching Past.

The Mumbai Police force Marching Past.

The Lady Officer Division of Mumbai Police Force

The Lady Officer Division of Mumbai Police Force

The Mumbai Police Force

The Bagpipers

The Bagpipers

The Bagpipers

The Bagpipers

The Bagpipers

The Bagpipers

The Mumbai Police Force

The Mumbai Traffic Control Division in their Bikes.

The Mumbai Traffic Control Division in their Bikes.

PS: 1) The above stories is fiction but the pictures are real . Thanks to my friend who passed me this few glimpse of the parade held in mumbai today. 

2)This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.

9 thoughts on “Happy Republic Day

  1. As an Ex Army guy I am delighted by the honor you have given to all our forces doing their duty faithfully. Inspiring indeed and many good wishes to you Heta.

  2. Pingback: Republic Day at Mumbai - 26 Jan, 2014

Leave a Reply

