Breaking the Ice


“Arun, Can you meet me?” asked Niyati.

“Is something serious honey! What happened, why are you sounding so low?” asked Arun.

“Just meet me Arun. Please its urgent. “ Replied Niyati.

After an hour they met in a nearby pub.

“Niyati, What happened tell me? Why did you call me here?

“Arun, actually.. Actually the thing is…tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-062

“Niyati speak up, you are scaring me now.”

“Arun, I love you, but the thing is we need to stop meeting this way now. We need to break up. I can’t be your girlfriend anymore. “

“What the hell. Do you realize what did you just say? What? Did your Dad say a No for me?  Speak up, dammit. Please I just can’t do this! This is not the way. I will talk to your Dad, honey, Please. I can’t think of separating from you. Please say something Niyati. “

 A big silence……………………… tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-005

 “Niyati, We need to find a way out. Break up is not the solution. I know you don’t want to hurt your Dad, but you are not thinking of what you are doing to me. ! Seven years, we have been in a relationship and now you are giving up. At this point Niyati?! Darling, darling, just listens to me, we could make it work. I will talk to your Dad, please just don’t come to conclusions and take such harsh decisions.”

Silence continues………….. tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-125

 “What Niyati, what! Say something! Your silence is killing me. “

“Look at me. Really?! You really want a breakup?! Can you live without me? Is it so easy for you? Can you love someone else? See I know you are tensed and worried, but honey breakup is not the solution. You….”

 A sudden laugh broke the silence tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-030 .

 Niyati holding her tummy and parting her lips started  laughing loudly  tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-162 .

 Arun is confused …..tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-107

“Arun, I am so sorry, but we need to stop being girlfriend-boyfriend now. As after our marriage, we would be entering into a new relationship. Husband and Wife  tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-100. “

Arun still confused and more irritated now….tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-013

“Arun honey, Yes! What you heard is correct. Soon we are going to tie knots and would be called “Married couple.” So you know we need to break up from our current relationship status tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-100. “

“Arunnnnnnn, Dad said a Yes tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-032. I was just teasing you. I am sorry honey.”

 Arun still in shock….

“What did you say?! A yes! Niyati, you scared me. Idiot. I love youtiny-smileys-yesemoticons-032 and please never ever do this to me again.”

 Niyati got up, went down on her knees and proposed Arun.

“So Mr. Arun will you marry me?”

 Arun held her hands ,took her in his arms and  kissed her on lips tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-009.

“Yes , To be Mrs. Niyati. And now that calls for a celebration and it would be incomplete without a bottle and a glass. ”

Niyati confused…

“Waiter, Get me one Marie Jean red wine bottle and two glasses please. “ said Arun to a waiter.

PS : This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.
All characters appearing in this post are fictitious. Any resemblance to real persons, living or dead, is purely coincidental.

5 thoughts on “Breaking the Ice

Leave a Reply

