What’s the smell, Boss :-P


“Aman, I am ready and will leave in sometime.”

Aman and I,we work in the same office. We had joined AKC Corporation Limited together as a Trainee.  Aman, an introvert, a shy guy, the complete opposite of me. Aman hardly spoke to the people around. His co-workers always chased him, pulled his leg often and it was me who always came to his rescue. Soon from colleagues,we became close friends. Aman had told me about his feelings for me, but I wasn’t ready for it at this stage of life. I made this very clear to him.He respected my feelings and never let his feelings affect our friendship. We still are Best friends. It has been two years now; Aman has resigned from his current job and has joined a new company. He made new friends, but what never changed was our friendship. We remained in touch and shared everything to each other.

“OK Babes, be on time please. Will see you at the party directly then.” Replied Aman

“OK!” I replied.

I reached the venue and greeted Aman. Aman introduced me to his new friends and especially Radhika, (the one whose birthday party it was).  Aman had discussed with me about his feelings for Radhika.

“Happy Birthday Radhika, so nice to meet youtiny-smileys-yesemoticons-032.” I said.

“Thank you so much. Have heard a lot about you from Aman. Nice to meet you finallytiny-smileys-yesemoticons-032.” Replied Radhika.

“Oh, Really. Well the same goes for you too “ I winkedtiny-smileys-yesemoticons-006 at Radhika.

Aman got tensedtiny-smileys-yesemoticons-101 and hit me by his elbow and signaled me to stop teasing.

“Aman, she looks beautiful. Seeing her, I feel she likes you too. What is stopping you then! Why don’t you just say it to her.” I said feeling dizzy.

“God knows , you know me, and how I am! I am afraid she would say a NO. Sometimes even she behaves a bit weird. I have tried to approach her, but she makes some excuses and walks away. Don’t know why!” Replied Aman with a sardonic look.

I was not feeling comfortable because of the smell around.

“Aman, What’s that smell, Bosstiny-smileys-yesemoticons-151?” I asked in an irritated tone.

“What? What smell are you talking about?” asked confused Aman.

“Nothing, chuck it. So where were we?“

“Babe, I really like her. But I am not sure. I mean you know once even you had rejected me. What if even she doesn’t like me? I am not a handsome or a charming guy like others. See look at Abhi, Girls fall all over him. “

“Aman, You look perfectly normal. Looks are just deceptive OK! I don’t mean to say you look ugly or something. You are tall, dark, handsome, for me; it’s just that I was not ready for any relationship. I never said a NO because of your looks or something. And unless you approach her and let her know about your feelings, how would you know about her feelings. Just be confident Dude.” I replied, winking at him.

After the party got over, Aman dropped me at my home. I was having a headache because of the some disgusting odour.

I really can’t understand, the party is over and still I can smell that pathetic reek. I held my head in vexation.

“What happened, are you OK?” asked Aman.

“Yes, I am, just a bit of headache.”

We reached at my building and  I hugged Aman a goodbye.

The same stink, I wonderedtiny-smileys-yesemoticons-147.

stink

I got down and waved him a Goodbye with a weird smile on my face.

Next day when Aman reached his office, he found a small gift box on his desk.

He inquired with peon and asked him who have kept it on his desk.

“Sir, You had received this in a courier this morning. I kept it on your desk.” replied peon.

With an  amused look on his face “ OK. Thank you.”

He opened the box and found a brand new perfume. There was a small note attached to the bottle cap saying, “ You need this.”

He even found a letter in the box and read it.

Dear Aman,

Good morning, my friend. I really don’t know how to say it on your face, as you were already feeling low yesterday. Saying this I dint want to upset you more or make you feel embarrassed in front of me. Yesterday my head was paining badly. The stinky smell in the party gave me a bad headache. I kept wondering what it was but I realized when I returned home. When I hugged you while saying Goodbye, I felt the same stink around. In the car nobody was there except us. So I got it, it were YOU from whom, the stink was coming from. Sorry If I sound rude. Don’t you have a bath everydaytiny-smileys-yesemoticons-100? I mean you gave me a very bad headache; your odour was that strong. You were beside me all the time at the party so; I was getting that smell inside my nose because of you tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-011. Now you know the reason, Why Radhika maintains a distance from you! Aman, it’s not your looks, but your smell, which keeps her away. It’s a complete turn-off Darling. I am your best friend and that’s why I dint want to hurt you being rude to your face. But not every time I can bear that smell.tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-100

Anyways, Listen to me carefully. Girls don’t give importance to the looks like I said yesterday. They fall for innocence, personality, the way you carry yourself and remaining important points as you know respect, love and all blah. Your odour would be completely a big turn off. Please, have a regular bath, Don’t skip,which you often do ! So Mr. Aman, please use the perfume I bought for you, it smells awesome And one more suggestion,Please have a proper bath or else change your soap or heater if needed please tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-100. OK!

Love

Yours Babe.”

Aman was surprised, but loved his friend for being frank.He called me up and thanked me for my sweet gift but was feeling a bit awkward, which I sensed it.

After few days……

“Babes, for the first time Radhika asked me for a lunch.”

“See it worked, But don’t be excited though. It’s just a simple lunch date. Enjoy!” I replied

Aman why all of sudden I am missing you. I mean we are friends, that’s what I wanted always and now when you are going on a date, why am I so uncomfortable.Am I in love with you?!tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-061 tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-062

PS: All characters appearing in this post are fictitious. Any resemblance to real persons, living or dead, is purely coincidental.

Also this post written is a part of Indiblogger contest.( https://m.facebook.com/racoldthermoltd?id=220927301368965&refsrc=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.indiblogger.in%2Ftopic.php&_rdr)

Catch video of Whats that smell,Boss?

Leave a Reply

