Donate Blood and Save a life!


image

Today when everyone is hanging out with their friends and families or just relaxing at home and enjoying their Sunday, I thought to do something pensive tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-032. I went for a blood donation, an initiative taken by a registered charitable trust “Tarun Mitra Mandal”. This NGO was established by a few of my community(Kutchi) folks who in turn perform their social responsibilities by motivating people to donate blood for a good cause. They are involved in the other activities like Book bank for needy students (where study books are provided to needy students at a nominal refundable deposit fee), feed the hungry or undernourished people free of cost, Eye Donation.

I donated my blood for the first time on 6th September 2007 (Yes, I still remember the exact date tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-006). I was in the  last year of my college and the NSS group of my college had organized a blood donation camp. I still remember how much anxious I was! I was reluctant to donate the blood because of the fear of needles and getting infected,if something went wrong. But my friends motivated me to do and the NSS group assured  me that nothing wrong would happen. So finally with the support of my two friends, I decided to donate. Till the end of the procedure of blood donation, I was tensed, but the feeling after the blood donation was too good. Tears had rolled down my cheeks, but they were the tears of joy. I was proud of myself. Since then I decided to donate blood at least once a year. The same hysteria of doing a good cause is still alive in me. Since then, I started  to donate my blood through this NGO trust. It is conducted once every three months in different locations. They have tie ups with various hospitals. Doctors are there who supervise each donor personally. NGOs volunteers and the hospital concerned persons, make sure that the proper details of donors are recorded and preserved for a future reference. After the donation we were made to lie down at least for ten minutes. There were proper provisions made for tea, coffee and biscuits for the donors.

The joy of saving a life is  such a wonderful feeling tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-024. Also by donating blood, we burn few calories, yeah, not much thoughtiny-smileys-yesemoticons-100 but take it in a positive way tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-006.! I am proud of myself,as a few days ago I had exercised my right to vote and today I saved someone’s life. Thanks to the NGO” Tarun Mitra Mandal”for doing such a fabulous job and giving me the privilege to be a part of such a good cause tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-032

image

4 thoughts on “Donate Blood and Save a life!

  1. Dear Heta feel good reading about your volunteering! Who knows whose precious life may get saved. It’s a post which will inspire others too.
    Well done and cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

