Happy 68th Independence Day


435fegf5gf

Today, 15th August, is the most important day for every Indian. Sixty seven years ago from today, our country INDIA got freedom from  the Britisher’s. The great warriors like Mahatma Gandhi, Bhagat Singh, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, Indira Gandhi, Lala Lajpat Rai and many others fought for our country’s freedom, toiled and went through many difficulties at the stake of their own lives. We will never forget them and their great work and sacrifices done for our country. They would remain our Heroes and our inspiration for being faithful to our country. Also, I salute our Indian army who is doing a great job of safeguarding us from the external threats. They too have their families like us, but they consider our country INDIA as their first family and protect us from our enemies. But, ask a question to yourself, are we really an independent country? Can we freely roam outside during nights without any worries? Can we do, what we really want? Though we have got freedom from British’s rule, but are we really safe?

Daughter: Mom, I am going out for a movie. Will be back by 2am or 3am.

Mom: But, Why so late? No, it is too risky to go out right now. What if something happens, your Dad would scold me, Beta. And see the clothes you are wearing, they are too short! It’s like you are inviting trouble! That’s why nowadays there are so many rape incidents. Girl’s Today have forgotten our culture and are very stubborn. Wearing these short dresses and then if something happens, who will be liable for everything.!

Daughter: Mom, Please! I know you are concerned, but after the entire day’s stress, I want some time for myself. I will be fine Mom and six of my friends are accompanying me. Please let me go. Please.

Mom: No, Beta, it’s impossible. We should keep our safety in our hands. This is not the right time to go out. Go out tomorrow, if you want. Now get back to your room.

stock-footage-sad-girl-near-window-thinking-about-something

Now here who was wrong? A girl who works for her living during the day and wants to go out in the evening, just to take some time for herself. Also, doesn’t she has right to wear what she wants to? Does she have to decide according to the others? Was her mom wrong then? Or her mom being worried for her daughter was wrong? What is your Opinion here? Can’t a girl have freedom to wear what  she wants, roam where she wants to, whether it’s  during the day or in the night, can’t a worried Mother get  some freedom from her concerns and troubled thoughts?

 

“God, please save me! No, Please don’t touch me. Please stay away from me. I don’t want to go out. I love Darkness now. This small dark room is my home now. Yes, I won’t go out now. This way I can save my body and my feelings to be raped again. The pain is very severe and I am not able to bear, God. What wrong have I done? He not only raped me, but he killed me. I don’t  desire to live anymore. My dreams are shattered. Mom, where are you? Please don’t leave my hand. I am afraid. I am even afraid to see myself in the mirror. I look horrible. I don’t love my body anymore. Dad, please don’t come near me. Mom, tell him not to touch me, please!!I am scared, Mom. Nooooooooooooooooooo.”

Sad Young Blonde Child

The words mentioned above resonates from every girl who becomes a victim of a man’s hunger. A girl is not only raped physically, but also mentally she  is traumatized. Nowadays, even six years old or seven years old girl is not safe. Rape has no age bar!!In such cases, the victim is not aware what  just happened to them. The only thing they can feel is Pain. And if you are aware of the tests done to prove whether the victim is raped or not, then you can imagine, what a small  child has to go through. The very thought of this makes me shiver! When will a girl have  freedom to wear what she wants and roam where she wants to! When will she have  freedom from the fear of getting raped! Can she trust her male friend or her own male family member or any of her close ones!

Daughter: Dad, I love him. What happened, if he doesn’t belong to our caste? I am never going to change Dad. I will follow both religions. Please, Dad understand my feelings. I will die without him. I don’t want to marry against yours and mom’s will.

Dad: How dare you even think of getting married to the guy who not only belongs to our caste, but he also comes from a lower society. What will people think about us? Before entering into a relationship, didn’t you  think about us once! Anyways, right now, it is still not too late. I will find a perfect groom for you. Now we can’t wait anymore. Stop meeting the guy and stop embarrassing us in front of our society.

Daughter: Dad, it is not possible. I truly love him. I can’t imagine my life without him. And in this way you are not only ruining my life, but also of the guy with whom you want me to get married! Please Dad, understand me. Also, I am just seventeen now. I have my whole life ahead of me. And I am very firm on my decision. I won’t get married to him until you say a Yes, but I won’t marry anyone else also. I will die rather than marrying someone else.

Headline of the next day newspaper…

“A seventeen year old girl and a twenty year old boy were shot dead. Their bodies were found on the highway wrapped in a plastic bag. Murderer yet not found…..”

crime-scene

When is this country going to be free from the caste discrimination! To say, we all are INDIANS but, there are different castes and religions residing here. We are free from Britishers but, when are we going to be free from this discrimination’s done where one Indian will kill another, in the name of a religion! Where has the humanity evaded. Many accused are still freely roaming outside and in search of their next prey, many victims are still awaiting their day of justice today!

Today, we are facing so many issues in our own country like rape, corruption, human trafficking, kidnapping, extortion and many more. When are we going to stop destroying our own country people! Our freedom fighters had worked so hard and sacrificed their lives to free us from the British rule, but are we really an independent country?! Though, I am proud to be an INDIAN but, such issues still depresses me and I ask myself, where has the freedom gone?

Wish you all a very Happy 68th Independence Day, people. Please respect the work done by our freedom fighters and erase the evil side of yours and stop being a terrorist in your own country! “JAI HIND. VANDE MATARAM.Image“. 

tiny-smileys-yesemoticons-023    Jana Gana Mana Adhinaayak Jaya Hey,
Bhaarat Bhaagya Vidhaataa
Punjab Sindh Gujarat Maratha,
Draavid Utkal Banga
Vindhya Himaachal Yamuna Ganga,
Uchchhal Jaladhi Taranga
Tav Shubh Naamey Jaagey,
Tav Shubh Aashish Maange
Gaahey Tav Jayagaathaa
Jana Gana Mangal Daayak,
Jaya Hey Bhaarat Bhaagya Vidhaataa
Jaya Hey, Jaya Hey, Jaya Hey,
Jaya Jaya Jaya, Jaya Hey♫♫♫

5 thoughts on “Happy 68th Independence Day

  1. Pingback: Just be yourself… | From guestwriters

Leave a Reply

